New Jersey Medical Cannabis Program Details For Patients
New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program: Contact Details
New Jersey Department of Health (DOH)
P. O. Box 360
Trenton, NJ 08625-0360
Email: New Jersey Medicinal Marijuana Program
Website: New Jersey Medicinal Marijuana Program
Note from State, on sources for medical marijuana
New Jersey patients are NOT allowed to cultivate their own medical marijuana. The New Jersey DOH announced the locations for six nonprofit alternative treatment centers (ATCs), on March 21, 2011, from which the patient may obtain their medical marijuana. Five of the proposed cannabis collectives, were operational by March 01, 2016.
The New Jersey Patient Registry fee is $200 and is valid for two years, for patients qualifying for state or federal assistance programs, the fee is reduced to $20 — Medicaid does NOT cover medical marijuana. The New Jersey Marijuana Registry is mandatory, and does NOT accept other state’s registry cards.
New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program: Information
Senate Bill 119 was approved in January 2010 — effective six months from enactment — legally protecting “patients who use marijuana to alleviate suffering from debilitating medical conditions, as well as their physicians, primary caregivers, and those who are authorized to produce marijuana for medical purposes, from arrest, prosecution, property forfeiture, and criminal and other penalties”.
Senate Bill 2842 — September 2013 — amended the law, allowing qualifying minors, with approval from a pediatrician and a psychiatrist, to use edible forms of ,medical marijuana.
December 2012, the Green Leaf Compassion Center became the first medical marijuana dispensary to open to patients.
* Please note: The New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program requires that any physician choosing to participate in the state’s program, MUST first register with the DHSS, before certifying any patients. If a patient’s physician chooses not to participate in the state’s program, the patient is required to establish a bonafide relationship with an approved New Jersey physician.
** HOW TO REGISTER AS A STATE-LICENSED NEW JERSEY MEDICAL MARIJUANA PHYSICIAN **
Physicians are required to provide their name and date of birth information, as well as their medical CDS license numbers — issued by the Division of Consumer Affairs (DCA) — in order to register.
Once a physicians application has been verified and approved, they may log into their account on the state’s system, and begin processing patient’s applications. Upon sumbitting the information, a secure and unique Patient ID, is created. Physicians are guided to provide the patient with a copy of his/her Patient ID, in order for the patient to complete their online registration with the MMP Patient Registry.
New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program: Qualifying Conditions
Patients in New Jersey diagnosed with one of the following severe, debilitating, or life-threatening medical conditions, are afforded legal protection under the New Jersey Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act, as per Senate Bill 119:
One of the following conditions, if resistant to conventional medical therapy: seizure disorders, including epilepsy, intractable skeletal muscular spasticity, or glaucoma;
HIV/AIDS or cancer, if chronic or severe pain, severe nausea or vomiting, cachexia or wasting syndrome results from the condition or treatment thereof;
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease), multiple sclerosis, terminal cancer, muscular dystrophy, or inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease;
Terminal illness, if the physician has determined a prognosis of less than 12 months of life.
New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program: Possession and Cultivation Regulations
SB 119 provides instructions for the establishment of Alternative Treatment Centers — “at least two each in the northern, central, and southern regions of the state. The first two centers issued a permit in each region shall be nonprofit entities, and centers subsequently issued permits may be nonprofit or for-profit entities”.
As per New Jersey regulations, physicians determine how much medical marijuana a patients needs, and required to provide written instructions, to be presented to the alternative treatment center, i.e. medical marijuana dispensary.
The state imposed limit, for a 30-day period, is a maximum of two ounces of medical cannabis.
New Jersey Medical Marijuana Telemedicine Services Online
New Jersey marijuana doctors please be advised, you may now provide medical marijuana telemedicine services online, giving patients the ability to now see a marijuana doctor online and in real-time, via the medical marijuana telemedicine portal, provided that the medical marijuana telemedicine doctor first establish a bonafide relationship with a patient in-person, after which all follow-up visits may be conducted using medical marijuana telemedicine services, online.